The Military History Society of NSW is for those interested in military history from ancient and modern times from NSW, Australia and the globe.

About Us


Background / History

The Military History Society of New South Wales Inc (originally named the New South Wales Military Historical Society) held its inaugural meeting on 20th September 1968, with the principle aim of encouraging the compilation and presentation of the Military History of New South Wales firstly, and that of Australia secondly. The Society encourages study and research and endeavours to foster public interest by the publication of written works in the field of Military History and allied subjects. The founding President (1968) was Mr Leonard L. Barton, SM (USA). The founding Patron of the Society in 1971 was Brigadier E.J.H Howard. CBE.


The objectives of the Society (which shall be non-political and non-sectarian) are: (1)  To encourage the study of military history. (2)  To print, publish and distribute such periodicals, books and other literary publications and documents which enhance the study of military history. (3)  To promote interest in military history by lectures, readings, discussions, excursions and exhibitions of militaria. (4)  To acquire by purchase, donation, or otherwise, and preserve for the use of the Society, books, manuscripts,  newspapers, records, coins, medals, stamps, prints, pictures, slides, uniforms, badges, relics, and all such other objects and materials as may be considered to relate to military history and to establish,  furnish and maintain libraries, Museums and picture galleries. (5)  To co-operate with societies having similar or related objects. (6)  To do all such things as are conducive or incidental to the attainment of the above objects. Note:

  • In the Objectives above, the words “military” and “militaria” relate to navies, armies and air forces, as well as supporting organisations.
  • In recent years the Society has broadened our lecture topics to include global military history topics from both ancient and modern military history.


The Patron of the Society is Major General The Honourable Justice Paul Brereton AM. RFD.

Council Members

The Council is charged with running the Society’s affairs on behalf of its members.

  • President and Secretary – Mr Robert Muscat
  • Treasurer – Ms Frances Cairns
  • Editor and Public Officer – Mr John Muscat

Councillors –

    • Mr Seumas Tan
    • Mr Dennis Weatherall